About me and my family

written Aug, 2010

As I write this, my life is about to change. A lot. But I'll get to that.
I am a 25 year old woman married to a great man. We have two beautiful children. Our daughter Claire is 18 months old and our son Alex is 3 months old. Yup, 15 months apart. It's crazy, but wonderful. Claire is a go-go-go toddler. She loves to explore and has NO fear. She has fallen on her head twice already in her short life- once out of her crib and once off a wall onto a concrete patio. No injuries thankfully. She amazes me every day with the new things she learns and does. She loves her independence and has been walking since 9 months. She never sits still. Except at the Chiropractor's office. Alex is a very mellow baby. He is sweet and cuddly and almost exactly opposite from his sister in every way. He's blond and blue eyed. She is brunette and mostly brown eyes. He is learning to roll over and shows signs of being as active as his sister, if not as crazy. Hopefully not as crazy. He loves to snuggle.
My husband Alann just graduated from the University of Utah with a masters in Real Estate Development and a Bachelors in Urban Planning. He hopes to open and run his own property management/ rental house company. We are moving to MO to "housesit" long-term for the in-laws. That's the major change in my life. He's a great guy. He's sweet and loving and dedicated to his family.
We have two dogs, Tanner and Nicki, both about 5 years old, and a cat, about 3. 
And me? I'm a college graduate. I have a Bachelors of Fine Arts in theatrical design. It's basically a pretty piece of paper. We moved to Utah two months after I graduated. I worked for a school district in accounting and then for a private firm as the office manager/ receptionist. I was laid off in Mar 2009, but I'm really okay with that. I had been praying for a way to stay home with my then 5 week old daughter. The Lord will answer our prayers, even if it seems like a strange way to do it. Since then, I've been a stay-at-home mom to my awesome kids. I love to sew and cook and garden, even though I don't have much time for it. I hope to open a sewing business when we move, selling baby blankets, hats, and possibly some other stuff.
 We are an LDS family, so I also do a lot of work with church callings. Most recently, I was a Relief Society teacher and the first counselor in the Stake Young Women's program. I love my life, even if the house never seems clean enough, the dishes are never put away, the kids are always hungry, grumpy, or  poopy, and the animals are always in the way.